Limerick heavyweight Kevin Sheehy guaranteed himself at least bronze at the Liventsev Memorial in Minsk, Belarus this afternoon.

But Jordan Moore and Brett McGinty bowed out at the last eight stage.

Sheehy convincingly Robertas Jakulys of Lithuania on a unanimous decision in the 91kg class.

Moore can consider himself to be very unlucky to have been on the wrong end of a 3-2 split to Kazakh bantam Bekzat Makzhan and the Brett McGinty and Giorgi Kharabadze three-rounder was in the balance right down to the final bell.

In the evening session, James McGivern lost after his fight with Italian light-welter Paolo di Lernia was stopped in the second round after the Irishman suffered a facial cut from what appeared to be a clash of heads. The ref ruled that it was a punch. McGivern was 4-1 up on the judge’s cards from  the first frame.

Martin Keenan won his second bout in 24 hours on a 4-1 decision over tough French super-heavy Paul Omba to join his fellow Shannonsiders Sheehy in the last four and assure himself of at least bronze.

Liventsev Memorial Minsk, Belarus

October 10


56kg Jordan Moore (Ireland) lost to Bekzat Makzhan (Kazakhstan) 2-3
64kg James McGivern (Ireland) lost to Paolo di Lernia (Italy) RSCI2
75kg Brett McGinty (Ireland) lost to Giorgi Kharabadze (Georgia) 1-4
91kg Kevin Sheehy (Ireland) beat Robertas Jakulys (Lithuania) 5-0
91kg+ Martin Keenan (Ireland) beat Paul Omba (France) 4-1

October 11


91kg Kevin Sheehy (Ireland) v Uladzislav Smiahlikau (Belarus)
91kg Martin Keenan (Ireland) v Mantas Valavious (Lithuania) or Vladan Baliach (Serbia)

October 9

Last 16

52kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) lost to Nodari Barbaigze (Belarus) 0-5
69kg Eugene McKeever (Ireland) lost to Yauheni Marachauk (Belarus) 2-3
91kg+ Martin Keenan (Ireland) beat Dmitry Makarevich (Belarus) 5-0

Irish squad

52kg Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s BC)
56kg Jordan Moore (Glasnevin)
64kg James McGivern (St Georges)
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family)
75kg Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis)
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale)
Coaches: Michael Carruth, Eoin Pluck
R&J: John Mongan