Tournament venue


Ireland claimed two gold medals at the Eindhoven BoxCup in the Netherlands today.


Michael Nevin and James McGivern topped the middle and light podiums following impressive unanimous decisions over Jaber Dahou of the Netherlands and England’s Can Shaw.


Dean Gardiner lost on a 4-1 split to England’s Chezerate Nihell in a close super-heavy final and had to settle for silver.


Kieran Molloy ceded a walkover in today’s finals after suffering a cut in his semi-final victory yesterday.


Congratulations to Christina Desmond and Tiegan Russell who will be bringing home gold and bronze from Eindhoven and Ken Oghungbowa who secured silver.


Desmond and Russell were representing the Fr Horgan’s BC in Cork and Ogungbowa was representing the Irish Athletic Third (Level) Boxing Association.


Please click here for today’s results.



Eindhoven BoxCup Eindhoven, Netherlands



October 20th


69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) beat Ruben Veciuna (Belgium) 3-2

October 21st


60kg James McGivern (Ireland) beat Adem Kartal (Germany) 5-0
69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) beat Peter Love (England) 5-0
75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Vladislav Jaskul (Netherlands) TKO2
91kg Kirill Afanasev (Ireland) lost Ken Ogungbowa (IATBA) 0-5

October 22nd


56kg James McGivern (Ireland) beat Cam Shaw (England) 5-0
69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) lost to Nabil Messaoudi (Belgium) W/O (Molloy injured in s/finals)
75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Jaber Dahou (Holland) 5-0
91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Ireland) lost to Chezerate Nihell (England) 1-4



Irish squad


60kg James McGivern (St Georges) (Gold)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) (Silver)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) (Gold)
91kg Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield) (Bronze)
91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) (Silver)

Coaches: Dmitry Dmitruk & Eoin Pluck

Physio: Sé Caffrey