Please scroll down for results of today’s elections at the 2019 IABA Annual Convention at the Broadhaven Hotel in Belmullet, Co. Mayo.

The new IABA rulebook was unanimously adopted in Belmullet and will be circulated in the coming weeks.

Proceedings began at 11am and were officially opened by Minister Michael Ring. The Assembly was hosted by Connacht and the Geesala Boxing Club as part of their 40th Anniversary celebrations.

Minister Ring, speaking in advance of the occasion, hailed the contribution of boxing to Irish sport.


He said: “It’s a great honour for Belmullet to host the IABA National Boxing Convention.

“The IABA has a proud history and everyone involved in the sport in Ireland can look back over the last 108 years with an enormous sense of pride, particularly in relation to our Olympic successes. Hopefully, there will be more to come in Tokyo next year.

“I know that Councillor Gerry Coyle, father of champion boxer Henry Coyle, is particularly proud that the IABA National Convention is coming to the Erris region.

“The coaching and management structures put in place by the IABA have contributed greatly to producing such world-class boxing talent.”

Fergal Carruth, CEO of the IABA, described the unanimous endorsement of the rulebook as a historic day for Irish boxing.

“It’s very positive for the Association that we are moving forward with a new structure following the unanimous adoption of the new rulebook. A big thank you to Connacht and the Geesalla boxing club for a very well organised, memorable and historic Convention,” he said.

The IABA thanks all who attended and extends best wishes to all incoming officers and members and thanked all those outgoing for their dedication.

(Images of today’s Convention courtesy of Gerry Coyle)




President: Elected unopposed; Dominic O’Rourke
Vice president: Elected; Patrick Osborne
Secretary: Elected; Paddy Gallagher
Treasurer: Elected unopposed; Larry Morrison
Registrar: Elected unopposed; Stephen Connolly

Elected Members of Central Council

Anna Moore
Peter O’Donnell
Philip Rooney
Larry Durand
Fiona Hennigan
Frank Ward
Gerry Storey
Johnny Carey