Day 3 of the Irish Third-level Boxing Championships took place last night in the High Performance Gym at the National Boxing Stadium and many semi-finals were completed along with three finals.

Dundalk IT student Christopher O’Neill got the ball rolling as he took a unanimous decision against David Giles  (GMIT). Daniel McCarthy (UL) won the corresponding fixture by stopping Daniel O’Sullivan (CIT) in round 2.


Same Palani (ITTD) won unanimously against Final Flynn (DCU) in the Junior Novice 75KG division. He will meet another Dundalk boxer in the final as Jean-Pierre Kaluena (OFIF) saw off Robert Collins (DCU) in his semi-final.


In the Junior Novice 81KG, Eoin Carolan (TCD) will meet Rudolfus Nemickas (DCU) after he won against Benas Pikcilingis (CIT).

Felix Hawksworth (DCU) advanced to the Senior Novice final with a unanimous decision over Nathan Cooke (NUIG).

In the Senior Novice 75KG division, Dungloe ABC boxer Danny Boyle took the first title of the 2018 IATBA Championships for Letterkenny IT when he stopped Paul Fitzgibbon (WIT) in round 3 of their final.

In the Female Senior Elite 51KG final, Lois Walsh (GMIT) had her hand raised in victory after an excellent tussle with Chloe O’Keefe (UL).


This was followed by another excellent contest where Kellie McLoughlin (ICFE) took a unanimous decision over Clodagh McComiskey (SRC) in the Senior Elite 57KG final. Both these girls had represented the IATBA at last season’s Haringey Cup and it was a final that lived up to all expectations.

In the male Senior Elite 60KG semi-final, DCU boxer Terry McEntee took a split decision over Shane Flavin (WIT). This bout ebbed and flowed and in the end there was little between the boxers with McEntee getting the mid from the judges.7


Conor Tighe (ITS) makes the Senior Elite 75KG final while Eamon Tighe (ITS) made the Senior Elite 91+KG final to ensure Sligo I.T. will have three Ballinacarrow boxers in the St.Patricks Day finals.

Pat Mongan (GMIT) also got to the final with a unanimous decision over Niall O’Sullivan in the Senior Elite 81KG semi-final.


The St.Patricks Day IATBA finals start at 10:30am in the National Boxing Stadium with all boxers having to weigh-in between 8am and 9:30am beforehand.


IABA President Dominic O’Rourke presenting Senior Novice 75KG Champion Danny Boyle (LKIT) with his medal and certificate.

IABA President Dominic O’Rourke presenting Senior Elite 51KG Champion Lois Walsh with her medal and certificate

Clodagh McComiskey and Elite 57KG Champion Kellie McLoughlin with President Dom O’Rourke

Referee Malachy Scott raises Terry McEntees hand after an epic battle with Shane Flavin

Kellie McLoughlin gets some wise words from coach Jimmy Kelly


Copy and pictures courtesy of Paddy Gallagher