Joe Ward (blue) in action

Rio 2016 Olympian Joe Ward (blue) in action


Fans are invited to the National Stadium tomorrow to support Ireland’s top Elites and Olympians versus Lithuania in a test match in Dublin.

Admission is free. Boxing begins at 4pm on Wednesday.

Ireland and Lithuania are in training camp at the home of Irish boxing. The camp runs until  Thursday.

Current European Elite welter champion Eimantas Stanionis and current European Elite bronze medallist Evaldas Petrauskas are included in a strong Lithuanian panel.


Paddy Barnes (blue)

Three-time Irish Olympian Paddy Barnes (blue)


Both nations are preparing for next month’s European Olympic qualifiers in Samsun, Turkey. The Irish squad for the qualifiers leave for a final training camp in Assisi, Italy next Monday.

Rio 2016 Olympians Paddy Barnes, Michael Conlan, Steven Donnelly and Joe Ward are included on the Irish team for the Assisi training camp.

The Rio 2016 quartet will return home from Assisi on April 7 and Ireland’s nine-strong squad travel straight from Italy to Samsun ahead of a key tournament for Irish boxing. Boxing begins on April 9 in Turkey.

The Irish squad for Samsun will be ratified in due course.

Ireland and Lithuania squads training camp National Stadium Dublin


Ireland versus Lithuania Test Match

52kg Paddy Barnes (Holy Family) v Stephen McKenna (Old School)

52kg Brendan Irvine (St Pauls) v TJ Waite (Ormeau Rd)

60kg David Oliver Joyce (St Michael’s Athy) v Edgaras Skurdelis (Lithuania)

60kg Katie Taylor (Bray) v TBC

64kg Dean Walsh (St Joesphs/St Ibars) v Evaldas Petrauskas (Lithuania)

69kg Steven Donnelly (All Saints) v Evaldas Stanionis (Lithuania)

75kg Conor Wallace (St Monicas) v Valera Dodeo (Lithuania)

91kg Kiril Asfansev (Smithfield) v Todas Tamasauskas (Lithuania)

91kg+: Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) v Mantas Valavicius (Lithuania)



  1. Stephen McKenna
  2. Paddy Barnes
  3. Brendan Irvine
  4. TJ Waite
  5. Michael Conlan
  6. Kurt Walker
  7. David Oliver Joyce
  8. Sean McComb
  9. Tiernan Bradley
  10. Dean Walsh
  11. Wayne Kelly
  12. Steven Donnelly
  13. Adam Nolan
  14. Martin Stokes
  15. Michael O’Reilly
  16. Conor Wallace
  17. Joe Ward
  18. JP Delaney
  19. Darren O’Neill
  20. Kirill Afanasev
  21. Dean Gardiner
  22. Thomas Carty



  1. Evaldas Petrauskas,
  2. Eimantas Stanionis,
  3. Mantas Valavicius
  4. Edgaras Skurdelis,
  5. Todas Tamasauskas,
  6. Tomas Piorun
  7. Vladimiras Bajevas (coach)
  8. Vidas Bruzas (coach)
  9. Arunas Cialka (physio)
  10. Valeriu Dadeo