Less than a year after they won Elite belts, eight boxers will be back between the ropes tonight looking to claim their second titles of 2019 at Dublin’s National Stadium.

Regan Buckley, Nell Fox, Leona Houlihan, Patryk Adamus, Ken Okungnowa, Christina Desmond, Michaela Walsh and Thomas O’Toole are aiming for a double.

All eight won Elite titles last February.

(See below results)

Current European Elite and European U/22 champions Aoife O’Rourke and Amy Broadhurst, who claimed the middle and light welter belts last time out, received walkovers in their respective weights at the second edition of the tournament of 2019.

The IABA is running the Elites for a second time this year in the run-up to the European qualifiers
for Tokyo 2020 in London (March 13/23) and the final world qualifier in Paris (May 13/24).

Boxers have two shots at qualifying for the 32nd Olympiad and Paris marks the end of the line.

The next Olympic qualifier after that will be for the Paris 2024 Games, one hundred years after Ireland entered the Olympics for the first time at Paris 1924.

Meanwhile, click here for ticket information for tonight’s finals and here for live coverage on TG4.

Click here for all results since last Friday.



2019 Liffey Crane Hire National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

November 22

Finals (5.45 pm)

60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) W/O
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
81+kg Naoise Finney (Ballybrack) W/O
49kg Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family Drogheda) V Sean Mari (Monkstown D)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
81kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) V Leona Houlihan (Crumlin)
60kg Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity) V Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy)
48kg Shannon Sweeney (St Annes) V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) V John Joe Nevin (Crumlin)
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) V Emmett Brennan (Docklands)
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown A) V Emma Agnew (Dealgan)
51kg Niamh Early (Ryston) V Ceire Smith (Cavan)
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) V Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
57kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) V Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) V Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) V Grainne Walsh (Spartacus)
63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) V George Bates (St Mary’s Dublin)
91+kg Antoine O’Griofa (Celtic Eagles/Defence Forces) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)
54kg Zara Breslin (Tramore) V Sarah Haghighat (St Brigids, Edenderry)
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) V Daniel O’Brien (Defence Forces)

Ringside Announcer: Peter O’Donnell
Tournament Inspector: Stephen Connolly
Computer Operator: Tara Mari
Chief Whip: Paddy Osborne
Glove Stewards: Philip Roche & Tommy Fitzsimons
Record Books: Anna Moore & Maura Campbell
Ringside Doctor: Dr Julian Dalby
Referee/Judges from the 6 Units.


2019 Liffey Crane Hire National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

February 23



48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) beat Donna Barr (Ilies Golden Gloves) 3-1
49kg Regan Buckley (St Teresas) beat Sean Mari (Monkstown Dublin) 5-0
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) beat Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) 5-0
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) beat Dearbhla Duffy (Crumlin) 5-0
57kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) beat Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) 3-2
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) beat Dominic Bradley (Errigal) 5-0
64kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) beat Moira McElligot (St Michaels Athy) 5-0
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) beat Evan Metcalf (Hyland BA) 4-1
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic Galway) beat Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin) 5-0
80kg Leona Houlihan (Crumlin) beat Lisa Browne (Aglish) 3-2
91kg Kenneth Okungbowa Athlone) beat Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dublin) RSCI3
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family Golden Gloves) beat Niamh Early (Ryston) 3-2
63kg James McGivern (St Georges) beat George Bates (St Marys Dublin) 3-2
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) beat Grainne Walsh (Spartacus) 3-2
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) beat Tommy Hyde (Mayfield) 4-1
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) beat Patrick Donovan (Our Lady of Lourdes) 5-0
60kg Kellie Harrington (St Mary’s) beat Jelena Jelic (Serbia) 5-0 (International bout)
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) beat Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) 5-0
54kg Emma Flannery (Baldoyle) W/O
60kg Kellie Harrington (St Mary’s) W/O
80+kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O

Best Male Boxer: Gabriel Dossen
Best Female Boxer: Christina Desmond

Technical Delegate: Stephen Connolly
Supervisor: Philip Rooney
Chief Whip: Paddy Osborne
Medical Record Books: Anna Moore & Maura Campbell
Ringside Announcer: Peter O’Donnell
Computer Operator: Paul McMahon
Glove Stewards: Philip Roche, & Bernie Gannon
Referees & Judges: From Ulster, Munster, Leinster, Connacht, Dublin and Antrim