Lauren Dempsey shaded Catherine Blaney in a cracking U/18 final at the National Stadium tonight.

The featherweights – both European medallists – went all the way down to the final bell before Dempsey’s hand was raised on a 3-2 split to take the first gold of the tournament.

The remaining semi-finals were also decided tonight, with Brandon McCarthy, pictured below, and Cian Reddy setting up Saturday’s 60kg showdown.

In the women’s lightweight class, Leanne Murpny, pictured above, earned a 4-1 split decision in her Rebel County derby with Linda Desmond and Evelynn Igharo also won.

The men’s 64kg gold is down to the last lap, with 2017 European Junior champion Callum Walsh and Matthew Tyndall, who is targeting an eight Irish belt, meeting for the light-welter title in a Cork versus Dublin All-Ireland.

Jack Marley, Barry O’Connor, Eimear McKee, Sinainn Glynn, William Hayden, Rokas Baltrukonis, Jake Tucker, Jack Kelly, Jason Myers, Edward McDonagh and Christian Owney McDonagh also had their hands raised in victory tonight.

The IABA is using the tournament as part of their selection process for the European Youths in Sofia, Bulgaria in September.

Saturday’s finals begin at 4pm. The weigh-ins will be held between 8am and 9am tomorrow morning at the National Stadium.



National Men’s and Women’s U/18 Championships National Stadium Dublin

July 19 (6.30pm)


57kg Lauren Dempsey (Ryston) beat Catherine Blaney (Navan) 3-2


91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown D) beat James Redmond (Ballybrack) 5-0
56kg Barry O’Connor (Ballyduff) beat Jamie Griffin (Riverstown) 5-0
60kg Eimear McKee (All Saints U) beat Chantelle Richie (Gilford) 5-0
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan) beat Tiffany O’Reilly (Curragh) 3-2
60kg Cian Reddy (Portlaoise) beat David Nevin (Mullingar Elite) 5-0
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) 4-1
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) beat Kaci Rock (Four Kings) 5-0
64kg Leanne Murphy (Togher) beat Linda Desmond (Rylane) 4-1
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat James Conroy (Tobar Pheadair) 5-0
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Docklands) beat Peter Vrinceanu (Crumlin) 5-0
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin) beat Tiarnan Mayse (Two Castles) 5-0
69kg Rokas Baltrukonis (Clane) beat David Nevin (Holy Family L) 4-1
75kg Jake Tucker (Emerald Antrim) beat David McDonagh (Mullingar Elite) Disq3
75kg Jack Kelly (St Carthages) beat Lewis Browne (Gilford) 5-0
81kg Jason Myers (Titans) beat Jack Murphy (Wexford CBS) 5-0
91kg Edward McDonagh (Galway) beat Francie O’Donnell (Ballymun) 5-0
91+kg Christian Owney McDonagh (St Annes) beat Christian Halligan (Saviours Crystal) 4-1

Saturday, July 20

Finals (4pm)

48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) W/O
49kg Craig Bigger (Cookstown) V Ryan Dunne (Jobstown)
51kg Fiona O’Keeffe (Rathkeale) V Nicole Clyde (Antrim BC)
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) V Jake McMahon (Liberty)
54kg Niamh Fay (Swords) V Megan Lehane (Rylane)
56kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott) V Barry O’Connor (Ballyduff)
60kg Eimear McKee (All Saints U) V Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan)
60kg Cian Reddy (Portlaoise) V Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Leanne Murphy (Togher)
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) V Matthew Tyndall (Docklands)
69kg Mary Enright (Setanta) V Leah Gallen (Raphoe)
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin) V Rokas Baltrukonis (Clane)
75kg Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
75kg Jake Tucker (Emerald Antrim) V Jack Kelly (St Carthages)
81kg Bethany Doocey (Castlebar) W/O
81kg Cathal Crowley (Spartans M) V Jason Myers (Titans)
91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown D) V Edward McDonagh (Galway)
91+kg Josh Philips (Ardoyne Holy Cross) V Christian Owney McDonagh (St Annes)

July 13

S/Finals & Q/Finals

51kg Nicole Clyde (Antrim BC) beat Mia Robbins (Gorey) 5-0
60kg Chantelle Richie (Gilford) W/O
60kg Tiffany O’Reilly (Curragh) beat Keisha Attewell (Tobar Pheadair) RSC2
60kg Sinainn Glynn (Cloghan) beat Niamh McNamara (Castlerea) 5-0
64kg Leanne Murphy (Togher) beat Eve Woods (Corinthians) 5-0
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Cameron Suttle (Erne) 5-0
64kg James Conroy (Tobar Pheadair) beat Jamie Duffy (East Meath) RSC3
64kg Matthew Tyndall (Docklands) beat Nathan McCaul (St Josephs Derry) 5-0
64kg Peter Vrinceanu (Crumlin) beat Eric Byrne (Sacred Heart Dublin) 3-2
69kg Tiarnan Mayse (Two Castles) beat Declan McDonagh (Claremorris) 4-1
69kg William Hayden (Crumlin) beat Ciaran White (Monivea) RSC3
69kg Rokas Baltrukonis (Clane) beat Ali Ahmed (Ormeau Road) 4-1
69kg David Nevin (Holy Family L) beat Josh Cummins (Trinity Sports) 5-0


49kg Craig Bigger (Cookstown) beat Aaron Kirwan Doyle (Ballagh) 4-1
49kg Ryan Dunne (Jobstown) beat Karl Sheridan (Crumlin) 5-0
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) W/O
52kg Jake McMahon (Liberty) beat Daniel Kheirredine (Bracken) 3-2
54kg Megan Lehane (Rylane) beat Megan Coleman (Baldoyle) 4-1

July 12


64kg Eric Byrne (Sacred Heart Dublin) beat Colin Hallinan (Ballina) 5-0
69kg David Nevin (Holy Family L) beat Brendan Corcoran (Carrickmore) 5-0
69kg Josh Cummins (Trinity Sports) beat Mark Kells (Erne) 5-0


49kg Karl Sheridan (Crumlin) beat Paddy McShane (Letterkenny) 3-2
49kg Ryan Dunne (Jobstown) beat Eric Walsh (Marble City) 5-0
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Nathan Horrigan (Hyland BA) 5-0
52kg Daniel Kheirredine (Bracken) beat Dane Finn (St Nicholas) 5-0
52kg Jake McMahon (Liberty) beat Padraig Downey (St John Bosco A) 4-1
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat Eoghan Quinn (St Johns U) 5-0
60kg Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) beat Dean Buckley (St Carthages) 5-0
75kg Jake Tucker (Emerald Antrim) beat Joshua Adams (All Saints U) 5-0
75kg Lewis Browne (Gilford) beat Laurence Ward (Monivea) 3-2
75kg Jack Kelly (St Carthages) beat Martin Faleye (Sacred Heart D) 4-1
91kg Edward McDonagh (Galway) V Luke Walsh (Raging Bull) 5-0
91kg James Redmond (Ballybrack) beat Malachy Duffy (Virginia) 5-0
91kg Jack Marley (Monkstown D) beat Jason Ward (Monivea) 4-1