samsun f
Please see above attachment for Wednesday’s quarter-final program at the European Olympic qualifiers in Samsun, Turkey.

Ceire Smith, Brendan Irvine,  Katie Taylor, David Oliver Joyce, Christina Desmond and Darren O’Neill are through to the last-eight.

Smith, Taylor, Desmond and Joyce are in action in afternoon session which begins at 12pm (Irish time). Irvine and O’Neill are between the ropes in the evening session which begins at 5pm (Irish time).

The top three boxers in each of the ten men’s weights – the finalists and the winner of the box-offs between the beaten semi-finalists – qualify for Rio 2016.

The top two females (the finalists) in the three Olympic weights for women – flyweight, lightweight and middleweight – qualify.

36 Olympic places – 30 for men and six for women – are up for grabs in Samsun.


European Olympic Qualifiers Samsun, Turkey


April 9th


64kg Dean Walsh (Ireland) beat Erik Agataljan (Czech Republic) 3-0

91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Ireland) beat Simen Nysater (Norway) 3-0

April 11th

Last 16

51kg Ceire Smith (Ireland) beat Virginia Barankas (Hungary) 3-0

52kg Brendan Irvine (Ireland) beat Hamza Touba (Germany) 3-0

64kg Dean Walsh (Ireland) lost to Lorenzo Sotomayor (Azerbaijan) 1-2

60kg Katie Taylor (Ireland) beat Martina Schmoranzova (Czech Republic) 3-0

75kg Christina Desmond (Ireland) beat Nouchka Fontijan (Netherlands) 2-0

91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Ireland) lost to Mahammadrausl Majidor (Azerbaijan) 0-3

April 12th

Last 16

60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ireland) beat Otar Eranosyan (Georgia)  3-0

75kg Michael O’Reilly (Ireland) lost to Ilari Kijala (Finland) 0-3

91kg Darren O’Neill (Ireland) beat Gabriel Richards (Sweden) TKO1

April 13th


F51kg Ceire Smith (Ireland) v Tetyna Kob (Ukraine)

52kg Brendan Irvine (Ireland) v Ellie Konki (France)

F60kg Katie Taylor (Ireland) v Yvonne Rasmussen (Denmark)

60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ireland) v Vazgen Sufaryants (Belarus)

F75kg Christina Desmond (Ireland) v Patra Scatmari (Hungary)

91kg Darren O’Neill (Ireland) v Abdulkadir Abdullayev (Azerbaijan)

Irish squad


51kg Ceire Smith (Cavan)

60kg Katie Taylor (Bray)

75kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans)


52kg Brendan Irvine (St Pauls)

60kg David Oliver Joyce (AIBA Pro Boxing)

64kg Dean Walsh (St Joesphs/St Ibars)

75kg Michael O’Reilly (Portlaoise)

91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown)

91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)

Team manager: Joe Hennigan

Coaches: Zaur Antia, Eddie Bolger, John Conlan
Physiotherapist: Julianne Ryan
Sports Psychologist: Gerry Hussey
Doctor: Jim Clover
Performance Analyst: Alan Swanton