Ceire Smith (blue) in action

Ceire Smith (blue) in action

Ceire Smith bowed out of the World Women’s Championships and Olympic qualifiers in Astana, Kazakhstan today.

The Cavan BC flyweight was beaten on a majority decision by Colombia’s Rio 2016 Olympian Ingrit Valencia in the last 64 of the tournament.

Smith impressed to take the first round on all three cards, but Valencia claimed the final three frames to secure victory against the Irishwoman in one of their three Olympic weights for women.

Smith is the only Irish boxer in action today.

Dervla Duffy, Moira McElligot, Kelly Harrington and Christina Desmond are between the ropes tomorrow, Desmond in the Olympic middleweight class.

Italy’s Irma Testa meets Sweden’s Agnes Alexiusson at 2pm this afternoon (Irish time) in the lightweight class. The winner faces Katie Taylor on Saturday.

The top four boxers (the semi-finalists) in each of the three Olympic weights – flyweight, lightweight and middleweights – in Astana qualify for Rio 2016.

Boxers in the other weights in Astana are competing for medals at the 9th edition of the tournament.

Sponsors of Ladies Boxing

AIBA World Women’s Championships Astana, Kazakhstan

May 19th (Last 64)
51kg Ceire Smith (Ireland) lost to Ingrit Valencia (Colombia) 0-2

May 20th (Last 32)
54kg Dervla Duffy (Ireland) v Diletta Cipallane (Italy)
57kg Moira McElliggot (Ireland) v Sati Burcu (Turkey)
64kg Kelly Harrington (Ireland) v Austeja Auciute (Lithuania)
75kg Christina Desmond (Ireland) v Khadija Mardi (Morocco)

May 21st (Last 32)
48kg Donna Barr (Ireland) v Kim Klavel (Canada)
60kg Katie Taylor (Ireland) v Irma Testa (Italy) or Agnes Alexisson (Sweden)

May 22nd (Last 16)
69kg Grainne Walsh (Ireland) v Hanna Solecka (Poland)

Irish squad

48kg Donna Barr (Twin Towns)

51kg Ceire Smith (Cavan)

54kg Dervla Duffy (Mulhuddart)

57kg Moira McElligot (St Michael’s Athy)

60kg Katie Taylor (Bray)

64kg Kelly Harrington (Glasnevin)

69kg Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)

75kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgan’s)

Team manager: Anna Moore

Coaches: Zaur Antia, Eddie Bolger, Gerry Storey, Pat McDonagh

Physio: Molly Ryan