Team Ireland: Boxing Open Day

Photo: Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

A very special event took place at the National Indoor Arena today, co-hosted by IABA and the Olympic Federation of Ireland, as part of the countdown to Paris 2024.

Team Ireland boxers and High Performance coaches held a narrated open training session, watched by hundreds of spectators. Team Ireland athletes trained with club boxers Alanna Berry of Crumlin, Akvile Siupieniute of Spartacus, Riona Devine of Dukes Boxing Club, EllieMay Fetherton of Mulhuddart BC, Sarah Murphy of St. Brigid’s BC Kildare Town, Conan McSorely of Two Castles Olympic BC, Broderic Abudoire of Jobstown BC, Michael Kane of Monivea BC and Michael James McDonagh of Tredagh Boxing Club

Clubs attending today included 2Castles Olympic Boxing Club; Arklow; Baldoyle; Ballinamore Boxing Club; Ballybrack Boxing Club; Ballymun, Ballynacargy Boxing Club; Bryansford ABC; Carba Boxing Club; Castleblaney BC; Corinthains BC; Crumlin Boxing Club; Dukes Boxing Gym; Evolution Boxing Club;
Four Kings; Fr. Flangan’s; Jobstown; Knockmore/Foxford; Loughglynn Boxing Club; Mulhuddart;
Muskerry BC; Oakleaf; Olympic Boxing Club Mullingar; Ratoath Boxing Club; Rosslare Boxing Club
Setanta Boxing Club; St Conleth’s Boxing Club; St Francis BC; Swords Boxing Club; Tredagh Boxing Academy; UCD; University of Galway (Formerly NUI Galway) and Westside BC

All spectators and training partners who attended today’s event had the chance to meet, chat with, take selfies with and get the autographs of Paris qualified boxers: Daina Moorehouse, Jenny Lehane, Michaela & Aidan Walsh, Grainne Walsh, Aoife O’Rourke, Jude Gallagher, Dean Clancy and Jack Marley.

The IABA High Performance Unit and Team Ireland also honoured the incredible ongoing contribution of #Paris2024 boxers’ clubs and club coaches to their Olympic journey by making presentations to the clubs and club coaches of all Paris-qualified boxers, including Enniskerry Boxing Club, DCU Athletic, St. Mary’s BC Tallaght, Castlerea BC, 2 Castles Olympic Boxing Club, Holy Family GG Belfast, Sean McDermott BC and Monkstown BC, Dublin. This follows a tradition of honouring clubs and club coaches which began at the 2023 European Games.