Countdown on to the World Youth Championships.

The countdown is on to the World Youth Championships in La Nucia, Spain.  Team Ireland’s 24 boxers depart on November 12th.

In all, 89 countries and 684 boxers will contest the tournament, of whom 476 are youth men and 208 are youth women.

Almost half of all contestants are from federations within the EUBC.

The tournament will be contested at 25 weights – 13 male weights and 12 female weights. The largest weight for men, in terms of the number of boxers entered is lightweight (60kg) – 52 boxers will contest. For women, featherweight (57kg) is the largest, with 24 boxers.

Team Ireland departs on November 12th. The draw takes place on November 14th and boxing, at Ciudad Deportiva & Camilo Cano. Preliminaries and Quarter Finals will be boxed between November 15th and 22nd; semi finals take place on November 23rd. There’s a rest day on November 24th and finals will be boxed on November 25th.

Two rings will be in operation up to completion of the semi-finals; finals will be boxed in a single ring and the IBA will stream all bouts on its YouTube channel.

Team Ireland Squad


48kg Thady Patsy Joyce, Olympic L, Westmeath

51kg Jack Harkin, Oakleaf BC, Derry

54kg Gavin Ryan, Ratoath BC, Meath

57kg Roy Farrelly, Avona BC, Dublin

60kg Lee McEvoy, Avona BC, Dublin

67kg James Donovan, OLOL, Limerick

71kg Bobbi Flood, Cabra BC, Dublin

75kg TJ King, Phoenix of Ballyboughal, Dublin

80kg Ryan Murphy, Neilstown, Dublin

86kg Nathan Ojo, Esker, Dublin

92kg David McDonagh, Olympic BC, Galway

92+ Bernard Cawley, St. David’s BC, Naas


48kg Georgia McGovern, Setanta L, Kildare

50kg Caoimhe Kinsella, St Anthony’s/Pats, Wexford

52kg Esther Lambe, Setanta L, Kildare

54kg Shakira Donoghue, Templemore, Tipperary

57kg Rebecca Kavanagh, Mulhuddart,

60kg Yasmin Meredith, Corinthians BC, Dublin

63kg Rebecca Collins, Baldoyle, Dublin

66kg Gabrielle Mongan, Whitechurch, Dublin

70kg Laura Moran, St Anne’s, Mayo

81kg Dearbhla Tinnelly, Clann Naofa, Louth

81+kg Cliona D’Arcy, Tobar Pheadair, Galway

Team Manager: Gerry O’Mahony

Team Manager: Bernadette Lannon

Coach: Lynne McEnery

Coach: Michael Mongan

Coach: Liam Cunningham