Wayne Kelly progressed to the last eight of the European Union Elite Championships in Spain tonight.

The Irish light-welter light-welter beat Petr Novak – who took a count after being on the receiving end of a big right in the third – of the Czech Republic on a unanimous decision in Valladolid.

Final scores – 30-26,30-26,30-26,30-27,30-27 to Kelly who impressed in all three rounds of the all southpaw 64kg bout.

Today’s win sees Kelly join Kurt Walker, Kiril Afanasev and Kieran Molloy in the quarter-finals.

Kelly’s Portlaoise BC team-mate, Michael Nevin, is in action tomorrow in the last 16 versus Germany.

Nevin will be in the ring at approximately 3.30pm (Irish time).

Image (courtesy of Irish team manager Stephen Molloy) of Wayne Kelly and Irish coaches John Conlan and Eoin Pluck today.


EU Elite Championships Valladolid, Spain

November 10

Prelims (last 16)

69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) beat Ruben Veciunoa (Belgium) 5-0
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) beat David Michalek (Slovakia) 4-1

November 9

Prelims (Last 16)

52kg Conor Quinn (Ireland) lost to Rosenov Banbakov (Bulgaria) 1-4
56kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) beat Stefan Ivanov (Bulgaria) 5-0
91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Ireland) lost to Frazer Clarke (England) 1-4

November 11th

Prelims (last 16)

64kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) beat Petr Novak (Czech Republic) 5-0

November 12

Prelims (last 16)

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) v Stephan Nikitin (Germany)

November 13


64kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) v Dmitry Galogot (Moldova)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Ireland) v Vincenzo Arecchiai (Italy)

November 14


91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) v Toni Filipi (Croatia)

November 15


56kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) v Jaroslav Iwanow (Poland)

Irish squad

52kg Conor Quinn (Clonard BC)

56kg Kurt Walker (Canal BC)

64kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise BC)

69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard BC)

75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise BC)

91kg Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield BC)

91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Clonmel BC) Cpt

Team Manager: Stephen Molloy

Coaches: John Conlan & Eoin Pluck

Physiotherapist: Seamus Caffrey

Team Doctor: Jim Clover- Team Doctor

Sports Physiologist: Damian Martin

Referee & Judge: Jim Murrin- R&J