(Please scroll down for pictures from today’s homecoming)

Irish boxing deposited another six medals in its 2019 Euro account over the weekend.

A half dozen medals were claimed at the 2nd European Games in Minsk.

Kurt Walker (gold), Kellie Harrington (silver) Michaela Walsh (silver), Michael Nevin (bronze), Regan Buckley (bronze) and Grainne Walsh (bronze) finished in podium positions.

Bernard Dunne, IABA High-Performance Director, said the squad performed magnificently against Europe’s finest.

Badminton duo Chloe Magee and Sam Magee won bronze in Minsk to bring Ireland’s tally in the Belarusian capital to 7.

Ireland arrived home via Dublin Airport this morning. IABA President Dom O’Rourke and CEO Fergal Carruth hailed the performances of the team at the 2nd edition of the Games.

The weekend’s haul improves Irish boxing into double figures for the European Games as four medals were won at Baku 2019.

Head coach Zaur Antia, who worked Ireland’s corner at Baku 2015, John Conlan and Dimitry Dimitruk worked Ireland’s corner at Minsk 2019.


The total count in European Elite, European U/22 and European Junior competition since March now stands at 16 medals – 4 gold, 3 silver and 9 bronze.

Ireland’s 2019 European boxing champions so far are Amy Broadhurst, Chloe Gabriel, Michael Donoghue and Kurt Walker.

Next up is the European Women’s Elite Championships in Alcobendas, Spain (August 22/September 1) and the European Schoolboy/girl Championships in Tbilisi, Georgia (August 2/12).




Medals won in European competition so far in 2019.


2019 European U/22 Men’s and Women’s Championships Vladikavkaz, Russia (March 6/17)

Irish squad


51kg Niamh Earley (Ryston)
57kg Mary Geraghty (St Anthonys)
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) (Gold)
64kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa)
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) Cpt


52kg Adam Hession (Monivea)
60kg Davey Oliver Joyce (Ballymun)
64kg Pierce O’Leary (Dublin Docklands)
69kg Patrick Donovan (OLOL)
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) Cpt

Team Manager: Stephen Molloy
Head Coach: Dmitry Dmitruk
Coaches: Anita Just, Philip Keogh
R&J: Stephen Kelly

Medals Table: 9th

Team Rankings Table: 10th

Nations competing: 38

2019 European Male and Female Junior Championships Galati, Romania, May 22/June 2

Irish squad


46kg Breda Quilligan (Rathkeale)
48kg Robyn Kelly (Ballynacargy) (Bronze)
50kg Chloe Gabriel (Mulhuddart) (Gold)
52kg Rachael Lawless (Portlaoise) Cpt
54kg Aaliyah Butler (Monivea) (Bronze)
57kg Nicole O’Sullivan (Corinthians)
60kg Shelby Myres (Crumlin)
63kg Winnie McDonagh (Neilstown, Dublin) (Silver)
66kg Tiegan Farrell (Arklow) (Bronze)
70kg Shauna Doherty (Sacred Heart, Dublin)
75kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Clann Naofa) (Bronze)
80kg Margaret Stokes (Callan)


46kg Dylan Eagleson (St Pauls, Antrim)
48kg Michael Donoghue (St Michaels Athy) (Gold)
50kg Jason Nevin (Olympic Mullingar)
52kg Donagh Keary (Rathfriland)
54kg Mustafa Edris (Monkstown, Dublin)
57kg Martin McCullough (Gleann) (Bronze)
60kg Michael McCarthy (Mayfield)
63kg Thomas King (Ratoath)
66kg Taylor Guiney (Drimnagh) (Bronze)
70kg Eoghan Lavin (Ballyhaunis) Cpt
75kg Mark Duffy (Charlestown)
80kg John Ward (Brosna)
80+kg Thomas McDonnell (Docklands)

IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team managers: Eugene O’Kane Snr and Anne Murphy
Coaches: Billy McClean, James Doyle, Gerard McDaid, John Gallagher, Aoife Hennigan
R&J: Loughlin Gannon

Medals Table Finish: 5th

Team Rankings Table: 3rd

Nations competing: 35

European Games 2019 Minsk, Belarus (June 21/30)

Irish squad


57kg Michaela Walsh (Monsktown) (Silver)
60kg Kellie Harrington (St Mary’s) (Silver)
69kg Gráinne Walsh (Spartacus) (Bronze)
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea)


49kg Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s) (Bronze)
56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) (Gold)
64kg James McGivern (St George’s)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) (Bronze)
91kg Tony Browne (St Michael’s Dublin)
91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)

Team manager: Bernard Dunne

Coaches: Zaur Antia, John Conlan, Dmitry Dimitruk
Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

Medals Table Finish: 5th

Rankings Table: (not available)

Nations competing: 44