6 Team Ireland boxers vie for European Junior Championship Gold.

6 Team Ireland boxers contest European Junior Championship finals today.

Flyweight Grace Conway Dowling (Tredagh) meets England’s Catherine Alice Pumphrey in Bout 3 of the afternoon session of today’s finals

Next up is bantam weight, Niamh Keogh (Olympic L), who boxes her final against England’s Ella Mae Lonsdale in Bout 5 of the afternoon session.

60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) meets Poland’s Kinga Krowka in Bout 7 of the afternoon session.

75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra) contests against Ukraine’s Anastasiia Taran in her final, which takes place at Bout 10.

66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings) contests his final against Poland’s Pawel Fabian Urbankski in the evening session’s 10th bout.

48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh) meets home boxer, Antonio Fortunato Marsala in bout 3 of the finals evening session

44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L), 52kg John Harty (Portlaoise), 63kg Cillian Reilly Lennon (Jobstown) and 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan) all come home with bronze medals.

Finals Programme:

Team Ireland is ranked 3rd out of 32 countries in the overall medals table; joint second in the girl’s medals table, and joint 3rd in the boy medals tables. In all, 353 boxers are contesting the tournament on Montelsilvano.


Finals afternoon session

Finals evening session:

Team Ireland Squad

Male Boxers:

1. 44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L)

2. 48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh)

3. 50kg Calvin Doyle (Olympic L)

4. 52kg Johnny Harty (Portlaoise)

5. 54kg James Kelly (Holy Trinity)

6. 57kg Callum Carrager (Tredagh)

7. 60kg Ryan Jenkins (Olympic L)

8. 63kg Cillian Reilly (Jobstown)

9. 66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings)

10. 70kg Charlie Valbergs (Cherry Orchard). Team Captain

11. 75kg Dylan McShane (St Pauls A)

12. 80kg Jack Teggart Weatherall (St Pauls A)

13. 80+kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)

Female Boxers

1. 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan)

2. 50kg Grace Conway (Tredagh)

3. 52kg Carlagh Peake (Ballyhaunis)

4. 54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic L)

5. 57kg Siofra Lawless (Liberty)

6. 60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) Team Captain,

7. 63kg Kayleigh Whelan (Avona)

8. 66kg Sarah Murphy (St Brigids L)

9. 70kg Jodie Byrne (St Teresa’s)

10. 75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra)

11. 80kg Shauna Crehan (Dunboyne)

Team Manager

Martin Fennessy


1. Ralph McKay

2. Liam Cunningham

3. Paul O’Toole

4. Linda Morgan


Philip Hollowed

Drawsheets are available here

Day One results are available here:

Day Two results are available here

Day Three results are available here

Day Four results are here

Day Five results are here

Day Six results are here

Competition Schedule: